Biography

Bernhard Endres was born in 1962 in Saarbrücken, Germany . After having obtained a school-leaving certificate with distinction, he began to study in his native town at the University and the School of Music of the Saarland, studying schoolmusic with musicology and classical philology, piano-pedagogy, artist-diploma piano and orchestral conducting.

Artistically he concentrated on piano major with Prof. Alexander Sellier, on chambermusic with Prof. Claus Kanngiesser and on orchestral conducting major with GMD Prof.Hans Drewanz.

As a fellow of the government of the Saarland, the Rotary-Foundation, the DAAD and the IU-School of Music Bloomington, he continued his piano-and chambermusic-studies in Paris, Munich and Bloomington (USA) in the classes of Serge Petitgirard, James Tocco, Gerhard Oppitz, Michel Béroff and especially György Sebök, which deeply influenced and promoted his further development.

In these years he also actively participated in the international masterclasses of Leon Fleisher, György Sandor and Vlado Perlemuter, thus having obtained a rich musical education in contact with the great masters of the piano, that has become extremely rare.

He won first prices in the Walter-Gieseking-Competition and in the international competition for the superior artist diploma at the Ecole Normale in Paris, a second price in the international piano-concerto-competition at IU-School of Music, and a fourth price in the International Piano Competition W.A.Mozart in Sarrebourg (France).

After early teaching positions at music schools, as an AI at IU-School of Music, as piano-teacher at the School of Music of the Saarland and as assistant conductor at the Lutheran Choir Community of the Saar under Prof.Dr.Loskant, he won in 1991 the position as piano-teacher at the Meistersinger-Conservatory in Nuremberg - now School of Music - as one of the youngest university teachers in Germany.

Like his teacher György Sebök, Bernhard Endres represents a certain ethics in music, which sets a higher value on the search for sense than on the striving for a superficial perfection without musical contents. In times of increasing glamour and showmanship, he focuses in his teaching on the human being at the instrument, struggling for a personal and profound interpretation. He preaches listening and tries to develop the awareness of his students.

In order to be able to help his students in this way and to meet his pedagogical responsibility, Endres intensively studied the effect of emotions on the physical playing-process and their meaning for an interpretation in the course of almost 30 years of his university-teaching. He analysed the interactions between body and soul and their blockings, and he worked on the concentration on the essence of music during the playing process.

Beyond that Endres has been performing with great joy as soloist and chambermusician. Through his concerts, radio-broadcasts and CD's Endres has earned international reputation as a highly cultivated pianist with an enourmous sense for sound and colours, whose playing shows structural clarity and poetry. He masters a wide repertory that reaches out in our time and encompasses works of composers like Reger, Stockhausen, Bernstein or Scriabin as well. He has always had a particular passion for chambermusic.

Together with the oboist Prof.Menzel he has published a 7-CD-anthology, which is exemplary in its artistical and pedagogical conception.

In May 2017 he finished an internationally acknowledged yogateacher training. The joint training of the "Neo Yoga Center" of Goa (India) and the "be-better-Yoga" of Berlin was staged under the direction of the yoga acharyas Kerstin Linnartz and Akhilesh Bodhi together with the yogateachers Mark Ansari and Raquel Salvador from London. Since then he teaches yoga as well. Special projects and workshops in the field of yoga and music are in preparation.


Workshop Yoga and Piano, Nov. 8 - 11, 2018, Villa Weiss, 95233 Helmbrechts
Informations and sign up per mail, please.
see also News

Biographie

Bernhard Endres wurde 1962 in Saarbrücken geboren und studierte dort nach einem Abitur "mit Auszeichnung" an der Universität und der Musikhochschule des Saarlandes Schulmusik (LAG) mit Musikwissenschaft und Klassischer Philologie , Musikerziehung Klavier, Konzertreifeausbildung Klavier und Orchesterdirigieren.

Seine künstlerischen Schwerpunkte waren Hauptfach Klavier bei Alexander Sellier, Kammermusik bei Claus Kanngiesser und Hauptfach Dirigieren bei GMD Hans Drewanz.

Als Stipendiat der Saarländischen Landesregierung, der Rotary-Foundation, des DAAD und der IU-School of Music Bloomington setzte er dann seine Klavier – und Kammermusikstudien in Paris, München und Bloomington (USA) fort, wo er ganz entscheidende Anregungen von Serge Petitgirard, James Tocco, Gerhard Oppitz, Michel Béroff und vor allem György Sebök erhielt, die seine weitere musikalische Entwicklung nachhaltig beeinflußten.

Er nahm in diesen Jahren auch aktiv an Meisterkursen von Leon Fleisher, György Sandor und Vlado Perlemuter teil, und hat damit eine musikalische Ausbildung erhalten, die in ihrer vielschichtigen Ausprägung und durch den direkten Kontakt zu den ganz großen Meistern des Klavierspiels äußerst selten ist.

Es folgten erste Preise im Walter-Gieseking-Wettbewerb und im Internationalen Wettbewerb um das Diplôme supérieur d'exécution an der Ecole Normale in Paris, ein 2. Preis im Internationalen Klavierkonzert-Wettbewerb an der IU-School of Music (USA) und ein 4. Preis im Internationalen Klavierwettbewerb W.A.Mozart in Sarrebourg (Frankreich).

Nach anfänglicher Unterrichtstätigkeit im Musikschulbereich, einer mehrjährigen Dirigierassistenz bei der Evang.Chorgemeinschaft a.d.Saar unter Prof.Dr.Loskant, und nach Lehraufträgen an der IU-School of Music und der Musikhochschule des Saarlandes übernahm Endres 1991 als einer der jüngsten Dozenten in Deutschland die Leitung einer Klavierklasse am damaligen Meistersinger-Konservatorium , jetzt Hochschule für Musik, in Nürnberg.

Wie sein Lehrer György Sebök vertritt auch Bernhard Endres eine bestimmte Ethik der Musik, die der Suche nach dem Sinn eine größere Bedeutung beimißt als dem Streben nach einer vordergründigen „Perfektion“ ohne musikalischen Inhalt. In einer Zeit zunehmenden oberflächlichen Glamours und eitler Selbstdarstellung stellt er den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt seines Unterrichtens , der sich spielend am Instrument um eine werkgerechte Interpretation bemüht. Er predigt das Zuhören und das Sich-selbst-auf-die-Suche-begeben , um einen Entwicklungsprozeß in Gang zu setzen, der ein Musikerleben lang andauert.

Um seinen Studenten so grundlegend weiterhelfen zu können und seiner pädagogischen Verantwortung gerecht zu werden, hat Endres in seiner mittlerweile fast 30-jährigen Lehrtätigkeit im Hochschulbereich intensiv die Bedeutung der Emotionen für den motorischen Spielablauf und den Gehalt einer Interpretation studiert, sich mit den Wechselwirkungen von Physis und Psyche , entsprechenden Blockaden , und mit der mentalen Fokussierung auf die Essenz der Musik beim Spielvorgang beschäftigt.

Darüberhinaus ist Endres als Solist und Kammermusiker künstlerisch aktiv . Durch seine Konzerte, Rundfunkaufnahmen und CD's hat er sich international einen hervorragenden Ruf erworben als kultivierter Pianist, dessen Spiel sich durch enormen Klangsinn, Poesie und strukturelle Klarheit auszeichnet. Er meistert ein breitgefächertes Repertoire, das bis in unsere Zeit reicht und auch seltener zu hörende Werke z.B. von Reger, Stockhausen, Bernstein oder Skrjabin umfaßt . Dabei gilt seine große Leidenschaft der Kammermusik.

Mit dem Oboisten Prof. Menzel hat er eine 7-teilige CD-Anthologie veröffentlicht, die in ihrer künstlerischen und pädagogischen Konzeption vorbildlich ist.

Im Mai 2017 hat er eine international anerkannte Ausbildung zum Yogalehrer abgeschlossen. Die gemeinschaftliche Ausbildung des "Neo-Yoga-Centers" in Goa (Indien) und des "be-better-Yoga" in Berlin fand unter der Leitung der Yoga Acharyas Kerstin Linnartz und Akhilesh Bodhi zusammen mit den Yogalehrern Mark Ansari und Raquel Salvador aus London statt. Seitdem gibt er auch Yogaunterricht. Spezielle Workshops und Projekte zum Themenbereich Yoga und Musik sind in Vorbereitung.


Workshop Yoga und Klavier vom 8. bis 11. November 2018, Villa Weiss, 95233 Helmbrechts
Informationen und Anmeldungen per mail
siehe auch Aktuelles